An Advent Journey

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Reflections: Scarritt Bennett, Nashville November, 2012

In 2012 I talked to a friend who suggested I keep, as a spiritual discipline, a Lenten journal using my camera to capture images that spoke to me of God’s presence. Her suggestion gave me a whole new way of connecting with God, combining my love of photography with my desire to spend more structured time in spiritual formation. Later that year my husband and I attended a workshop on photography as a spiritual practice led by photographer Susan Hay at Scarritt Bennett in Nashville, which led me to (eventually) start my blog.

This year for Advent, “Alive Now” magazine, a publication of Upper Room Ministries, invites us to participate in an Advent practice and pray with our cameras. Here is the way it’s explained on their website:

“Are you a visual psalmist? Do you pray with your camera in your hand? If so, please join us this Advent season for Alive Now’s Advent Photo a Day spiritual practice. Come to this page each day to find the word for the day. Then stop, watch, wait, see … for God’s presence in the word for the day. Tag your photo on social media (Facebook or Twitter) with #(today’s word), #AliveNowMag, #AdventPhoto.”

If you are interested in participating, check out “Alive Now” for the word of the day–begin Sunday, November 29!

You can learn more about Advent here.

Peace, joy and blessings during this season!

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “An Advent Journey

    • I thought so, too, because it will help me focus on the spiritual significance of these days leading up to Christmas. It will be interesting to see how others interpret God’s presence with each day’s word.

Leave a Reply

