October–A Season for Change

Changing colors on the Blue Ridge Parkway near Asheville, North Carolina

Changing colors on the Blue Ridge Parkway near Asheville, North Carolina


In my mind, October means change, beginning with the most basic change–my birthday on October 5. On that day 12 years ago I remarried–a change from over six years of being single, to sharing life and love with my husband, Bob, which led to immediate changes–resigning from my 20-year career and moving to a new city. These changes play a large part in several gradual, on-going changes–moving forward in my spiritual journey, growing in confidence, and pursuing my dreams.

The self-confidence I have to pursue my dreams is nurtured by the support, encouragement, and unconditional love Bob gives me. From the beginning of our relationship he has done everything he can to let me know how capable, intelligent, talented and attractive I am in his eyes. I’m not saying that he gives meaningless praise or compliments–I can always count on him to offer honest, constructive criticism! However, he has never discouraged me from undertaking a new project.

And so it is that at the end of October, 2015 I am preparing to pursue another goal–to complete my second novel for National Novel Writing Month! Participating and winning in 2008 helped me decide to fulfill my long-time dream of returning to the classroom and complete my undergraduate degree. Now I wonder what this second effort might lead to!

Wish me luck!

 

 

12 thoughts on “October–A Season for Change

  1. You entered and won in 2008? Wow! I did not know you completed it. I would like to read it!
    Liked your essay and wish you luck on your writing! Can’t wait!

    • Janine, I “won” by completing a rough draft! This year I’m writing a sequel , and the working title is “Lulu on the Loose.” I’m aiming for a lighter, and I hope funnier, touch.

  2. Laurel
    You don’t need luck!
    You have everything you need: God, Bob’s love and support, Determination and Motivation.
    You can do this!!

Leave a Reply

