Sharing the Journey

In the assignment for day 8 of blogging 101, Michelle W. told us at least 2 things that I can vouch for: when you leave a substantive comment, you make the original post that much richer, drawing others into the discussion; & because engaging in conversation is inspiring, you never know where (or who) your next post idea will come from.

On Sept. 17 I shared a few thoughts in a post I called “Making Connections.” The comments made on that post, plus those on Facebook and in private messages, nudged me to give more thought to the purpose of “Shining Through: Seeing God in the Everyday.” Originally I planned to make it primarily a photography blog, to share what I’d learned about photography as a spiritual practice, with the hope that maybe others would find inspiration and look at the world around them more thoughtfully–or, as one of my favorite songs puts it, with “Spirit Eyes.” That goal remains, with the added one of sharing my spiritual journey and encouraging others. I assume that potential readers of my blog would either be at some point on their own spiritual journey or seeking. Why else would they even be interested in it?

As a Christian I am often saddened by the examples of “Christian” attitudes that make the news–judgmental, condemning, sometimes even hateful. I want my blog to be a place where others can find encouragement, inspiration, compassion and hope. I believe we all need those things, especially in these times of such deep division and acrimony in politics, culture, and religion–even among members of the same faith tradition or local congregation.

Instead of one of my own photos, today I’m sharing this quote from Madeleine L’Engle. I believe her words could apply to any situation, not just religious.

L'Engle QuoteI welcome your comments!

6 thoughts on “Sharing the Journey

Leave a Reply

